After I drained my seed, I sprouted them for two days until the sprouter was about three-fourths full, then filled my growing tray with about an inch of soil.

grass3

 

The next few steps

  1. Spread seeds over the soil
  2. Pour about a cup of water over the seeds
  3. Cover seeds with paper towels & saturate

grass1

You can place another tray on top of the paper towels to keep them moisture in and light out. Sprouts need moisture and darkness to grow. You have to make sure that the paper towels don’t dry out for the next two or three days by spraying them down a couple of times a day.

It’s also a good idea to put an extra tray under as well as on top of your sprouts. This will catch any dripping from overwatering. If you don’t do this, you might end up with puddles of water under your tray. This used to happen to me all the time, and it drove me crazy! But doubling up trays has completely solved the problem.

side note– I use recycled, chemical free paper towels. They are way too expensive to use for any other purpose, but one roll will last forever (seriously, months!) when used exclusively for sprouting grass seeds. Some people use newspaper, but I just can’t get on board with that. Typical paper towels are fine, but I’d rather not take any chance of chemicals or dyes leaching into my organic seeds/soil.

Anyways, I’ll update when my sprouts are tall enough.

 

