“Food can be the greatest form of medicine, or the slowest form of poison.” – Anne Wigmore


As previously mentioned wheatgrass is pretty much the only thing I have the ability to grow. Learning to grow it is one of the best things I’ve ever done for my health. But it wasn’t the easiest venture. It took about two years of experimentation for and research to be able to grow grass that wasn’t moldy or too short to be worth juicing.

I don’t know if I’m the only one who has had such a harrowing experience, but I’ll go through the steps as I grow my next tray and share what I’ve learned over the years.

Why grow grass?

It’s not difficult to find long lists of the possible benefits of grass juicing.  It seems like everyone is into juicing these days, but most seems to focus on basic veggies and fruits. I’ve found grass juice to be a much stronger cleansing tonic than any veggie juice (except maybe beets).  It’s also sometimes the less expensive option if you are getting into juicing. It’s WAY less expensive than the dried green powders sold in every health food store (none of which ever did anything for me).  And there is something therapeutic about growing things you will consume. We were made to touch the soil that produces our sustenance.

Need more motivation?

Here are two amazing videos about people who primarily used grass juice to achieve vibrant health..

The Wheatgrass Trucker

70-year-Old Vegan

The Downside

  • It can take some work to learn and get into a routine
  • It does not taste good. I always hold my nose and chase it with soy/almond/coconut milk (for some reason milkish products cut the aftertaste better that juice, for me at least).
  • You have to start slow or you may get a little nauseated after taking a shot. It’s the cleansing effect. The first time I drank wheatgrass, it was on an empty stomach and way more than I could handle. I ended up throwing up twice….

 

The process: Step One

seeds2

  1. The first thing you need is this sprouter. It is the best sprouter in the universe. It is by far the easiest one to use, and I love using it for soaking and sprouting juicing grasses. Before using this, I used a mason jar to soak and sprout my grass seeds (most people do)….It was always a huge mess and way more time consuming because I had to rinse it more often and more thoroughly.
  2.  The next thing you need is seeds. I mix half wheatgrass and half barley grass seeds. I don’t know if anyone else does this. I started doing it because barley grass tastes a little better than wheatgrass, but wheatgrass grows a little better and is sometimes cheaper. It’s worked out fine for me, much better than growing all one or the other. But you are free to do it however you want!
  3. Measuring is next. I had to change the amount I soak because what they say on the bag always seemed like too much, and I felt I was wasting seeds. I cut a tiny mark on my sprouter with a knife about two and a half inches from the bottom. That makes it much easier because I just pour the seeds in and don’t have to measure it each time. It comes out to about a cup (measuring cup for liquids–I always forget to use the other one).
  4. You need to fill the jar with water until the seeds are cover by about an inch of water. It soaks for six to nine hours (nine to twelve for winter). I usually just do nine or ten hours no matter what time of year it is and it works fine.

I’ll go through the next steps when my seeds are done!….

